A Quick Guide To The New Aged Care Quality Standards

February 8, 2020

Aged Care Quality Standards

Last year the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission (ACQSC) introduced a single set of quality standards applicable to all Australian Government-funded Aged Care services.

The introduction of Aged Care Quality Standards aims to clarify what ‘good care’ actually means. This single framework replaces four separate sets of Aged Care industry standards: Accreditation Standards, Home Care, National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Flexible Aged Care Program Quality Framework Standards and Transition Care Standards. Aged Care Quality Standards has a focus on meeting consumer outcomes, ensuring subsidised care providers are honest, accountable and held to a common standard.

What are the new Aged Care Quality Standards?

Aged Care Quality Standards are made up of eight standards that providers must meet. With a focus on your health, safety and wellbeing, each standard has a consumer outcome which describes the impact of a service or support on the individual.


Standard 1 Consumer dignity and choice I am treated with dignity and respect and can maintain my identity. I can make informed choices about my care and services and live the life I choose.
Standard 2 Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers I am a partner in ongoing assessment and planning that helps me get the care and services I need
for my health and well-being.
Standard 3 Personal care and clinical care I get personal care, clinical care, or both personal care and clinical care, that is safe and right for me.
Standard 4 Services and supports for daily living I get the services and supports for daily living that are important for my health and well-being and that enable me to do the things I want to do.
Standard 5 Organisation’s service environment I feel I belong and I am safe and comfortable in the organisation’s service environment.
Standard 6 Feedback and complaints I feel safe and am encouraged and supported
to give feedback and make complaints. I am engaged in processes to address my feedback and complaints, and appropriate action is taken.
Standard 7 Human resources I get quality care and services when I need them from people who are knowledgeable, capable and caring.
Standard 8 Organisational governance I am confident the organisation is well run. I can partner in improving the delivery of care and services.


Source: Aged Care Quality Standards Fact Sheet. Australian Government Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission.


Aged Care providers must also show how they are meeting the outcome by fulfilling certain organisation requirements for each standard. For example, to meet Standard 5 (Organisation’s Service Environment), providers such as Aged Care homes are required to keep a safe, clean and well-maintained service environment. This is just one of several quality checks used by The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission who independently review and monitor providers to make sure they comply with Aged Care Quality Standards.

How you can benefit from Aged Care Quality Standards

Transitioning into Aged Care is different for everyone, and people choose their Aged Care provider based on different individual needs and varying factors. Some might rely on word of mouth from family and friends or leave the decision completely in the hands of a loved one or guardian. For others, the decision is based on a visit to an Aged Care provider, where they can get a first-hand experience of the provider’s approach to care, sense of community and accommodation and environmental features.

There’s no one-size-fits-all solution when choosing an Aged Care provider. But with the introduction of Aged Care Quality Standards, every Australian Government-subsidised Aged Care provider is now obliged to meet the same quality standards. With this information, it’s much simpler for you to compare Aged Care providers, and quickly find the right match for your care needs, lifestyle goals and overall wellbeing. It also ensures that providers are accountable, giving you the reassurance that they can actually deliver on what they promise.

Ready to find the provider that’s right for you? Here are some ideas to get started:

  • You can view Assessment Reports for individual homes already assessed by the new Aged Care Quality Standards on the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission website.
  • My Aged Care also features the handy Find A Provider. Here, you can easily find out about an Aged Care provider and the specific services they offer. You can also check for any non-compliance notices or sanctions.
  • If you prefer a first-hand experience, why not visit The Royce Manor in person? We’d love to show you around our community and demonstrate our commitment to your care and quality of life. Please give us a call on 02-4720 5633 or contact us via our website to arrange a tour.
  • Respite Care could be good way to ‘test drive’ an Aged Care provider before considering a permanent arrangement. At Royce Manor, this means full access to the care, services and activities our Permanent Care residents enjoy. Please call us for details.